Days 187, 188, 189 and 190: So Dr. Fauci is saying that I may not have to deal with the regular grind of being grabbed and yanked on the subway by people who suddenly think with their eyes until … the end of next year. I can’t say I’m displeased.

So my … fifth, sixth, something like that? meeting about my ostensible impending eventual promotion got moved. I’m hoping for Tuesday afternoon. Also, at some point, we need a refresher on how @phinnia’s wheelchair comes apart, in case we visit Seaners while the snow hasn’t flown yet. In the meantime, I suppose I could set up a video call or something.

So I got this concentrated cleaner that our cleaning company uses, and some empty bottles to store the diluted solution in, and noticed that there is … no easy way for me to label the bottles so @phinnia knows what they are. If you’re sighted and labelling things for someone who’s blind, there’s at least one device for that. I mean—it’s come up before, but there is no real provision for “disabled person X needs to make things accessible for person Y without that disability”. The one time I had a help desk technician trying to fix my video output, where the screen reader was working fine but the screen itself was failing miserably, he literally had no clue what to do. I mean, he was panicking—and yet, this exact same technician had previously told me “not to worry” when I couldn’t get the screen reader launched for some reason, because he “had things under control”. It’s a flaw in generally accepted thinking amongst abled people, I think.

Oh my dentist’s office wants me to fix their accessibility issues, in exchange for which they will give me money. They were thinking of having me do that after my appointment on Monday, until they checked and realized that I would be under oral sedation. I never code while on sedatives. It just seems like a reasonable thing to avoid.

Anyway, that’s all I got. Stay safe, wash your hands, and if anybody has an accessible, portable way of generating printed labels, hit me up.