So. CSS and other web design tips and tricks if you’re blind, as if I’m going to, at a minimum, limit my Facebook to reposting what would be on a site I own and control, I should probably learn a few things about UI design.

  1. Has anyone used a visual interpreter for the finer points of this task? Again, my One Unbreakable Rule here is that no success should only be able to be achieved as a direct result of my marrying someone sighted, because of the common societal belief that doing so is necessary if you’re blind. Or, to put it another way, it’s totally fine if @phinnia helps with this, but ONLY if there is a proven alternative way of accomplishing the same task that is readily available. 1 Admittedly, in the corporate world, or, at least, in the Barclays world, there were predefined stylesheets that defined what specific items were meant to look like, which makes UI development, if not UI design, a snap if you’re blind—or, at least, if you’re me.

  2. If the answer to the first item is “yes”, how many minutes did this tend to take? Tagging @arush and, hell, anybody else with some insight here.

1 She’s a graduate student with a Sims addiction. Don’t assume she’s available in five seconds to act as my prosthetic eyes. That is inhuman and I have denied promotions to people that have done less offensive things than assume this. Like pretending they knew how to code.